Almost every internet user has a Google account. You can use it on phones with Android or use it as a mail infrastructure. But what can you do if you want to delete your Google account? If for some reason you want to delete your Google Gmail account and permanently delete your personal data or if you don’t like your username (your e-mail address), you can close your old account and open a new account with the Google account delete system. We have gathered this for you.
How to delete your Google account
- Go to the Data & Privacy section of your Google Account.
- Scroll to “Your data & privacy options.”
- Select More options and then Delete your Google Account.
- Google will ask you to enter your username and password again.
- You will receive an email for your verification.
- You can complete the process by clicking on the link in this email.
When you open a Google account, it is active to use many Google accounts such as Youtube accounts, maps accounts, and location accounts. For easy membership, you can also use your Google account to open membership on various platforms such as forum sites, and technology shopping sites. So if you delete your Google account you will lose your data in these accounts too.
If you delete your account you will lose all the data in that account
If you delete your account you will lose all the data and content in that account, like emails, files, calendars, and photos. You won’t be able to use Google services where you sign in with that account, like Gmail, Drive, Calendar, or Play. You will lose access to subscriptions and content you bought with that account on YouTube or Google Play, like apps, movies, games, music, and TV shows. It is better to keep these in mind.
If you use a Chromebook, you won’t be able to use any Chrome apps or extensions for the deleted account. You will still be able to let others use your Chromebook temporarily Sign in with a Google Account that hasn’t been deleted.
What can you do if your account has been hacked?
If your account has been hacked, before you delete a hacked or compromised account, consider using Security Checkup to learn more about what parts of your account were accessed without your permission. That way, you can take steps to reduce further harm caused by the hacker. For example, if you save passwords in your Google Account, you can find out if they were accessed. So you know if they need to be changed.
If you save contacts in your Google Account, you can find out if they were downloaded so you can let contacts know if they should watch out for suspicious messages. If you use Google Wallet for transactions, you can check if there are any unauthorized payments. So that you can dispute them. Important: Once your account is deleted, you can no longer use Security Checkup to review activity in that account.
Make sure that download the data that you want to keep
Before you delete your account review the info in your account. Learn how to download data that you want to keep. If you use your Gmail address for online banking, social media, or apps, add a new email address for these services. Update your account recovery info in case you try to recover your account later. Learn how to add recovery info.
If you change your mind, you can reopen your account if you act quickly. Visit: https://accounts.Google.com/signin/recovery then enter your old Gmail address. If your account has not been permanently deleted, Google will send you an email with instructions on what to do. Then you can access your account again.