Meta, the owner of WhatsApp, announced new privacy features for the messaging application. The company will let users leave group chats silently, control who can see their online status, and block screenshots on View Once messages in WhatsApp. Here are all the details about the new WhatsApp update.
WhatsApp’s new update lets users have more privacy
WhatsApp will release the features this month, starting in the UK. With the update, you can hide your “last seen” status from specific persons. The company launched hiding users’ online status from strangers by default the last December. However, WhatsApp wants users to have more privacy with the new WhatsApp new privacy features.
WhatsApp users will be able to leave the groups silently. Users will not get notifications about leaving. When you leave a WhatsApp group, all group participants are notified. They can ask you why you left even if you don’t want to make an explanation. This could be annoying for some time. Therefore, the new update could be much more useful.
There will also be another privacy feature that blocks users from taking screenshots of “view once” messages. They are not like disappearing messages or deleting messages. When the recipient has seen it, they go away, and users cannot see them again. Snapchat users have been using the view once feature for a long time, and WhatsApp borrowed it from Snapchat. Blocked screenshots are also taken from Snapchat. It doesn’t guarantee security since users can take a screenshot with other devices or third-party applications.
Meta is developing WhatsApp with many small but useful updates this year. Some features include rolling out emoji reactions, a way to speed up voice messages, and letting Android users transfer their chat history to iPhone in the updates.