WhatsApp announced today that users now have a little over two days to delete a message. It was only one hour to delete the messages earlier in the application. This feature is so important for users, and third-party-chat app like Line, WhatsApp, or even Signal, has it. Apple will release this feature with iOS 16.
You have two days to delete messages
WhatsApp launched this feature long ago, but the company limited it to users. Users could delete the messages only in 1 hour, 8 minutes, and 16 seconds. With the update, you will have 2 days and 12 hours to delete a message after sending it on WhatsApp.
If you are using WhatsApp, you can use the feature. To start using the new feature, open the WhatsApp group or individual chat where you sent the messages. Choose the message or messages you want to remove, click “Delete,” and select either “Delete for everyone” or “Delete for me.” You must choose “for everyone” to remove it from all users.
The company announced this feature on Twitter, “Rethinking your message? After you hit send, you’ll have over 2 days to delete your messages from your chats.” There is a detail about deleting you need to know. When you delete the message, all users who have received it must be updated to the most recent version of WhatsApp. Otherwise, it won’t work for them, and they will be able to see the messages even if you delete them.
Of course, you don’t have to use WhatsApp for chatting with your friends or family. There are a few alternatives to WhatsApp which have the same features or more. You can check them here.