Netflix wants to avoid losing revenue due to password sharing. The company has speeded up its efforts to launch the expected new era. According to new information, Netflix will start activating its plan to end the password sharing process, which it is currently testing in some countries, for everyone at the beginning of 2023.
Netflix will charge extra to users who don’t share the same IP address
As of the new year, the company will charge people who you give your password but who do not live in the same house with you. Here, the location determination will be made directly on the IP address. “People who don’t live with you must use their own accounts to watch Netflix,” the company says. It is also taking this step to generate more revenue. The company is missing out on significant potential revenue globally due to single-account usage outside the home.
Netflix had launched the “Access Permissions and Device Management” feature for this purpose in recent months. The company said the following about this feature: “With the busy holiday season just around the corner, many of our members will be on the move and watching Netflix wherever they are traveling to see family and friends. Logging in to your account while at a hotel or even your friend’s house is easy and intuitive, but occasionally people forget to log out.”
“Today, we’re launching Managing Access and Devices, a new feature in Account Settings that allows you to easily view recent devices that have streamed from your account and to log out of specific devices with just one click. This much-requested feature to help members manage their account security is now available to all members around the world on the web, iOS, and Android.”
Netflix is working hard to end password sharing and had previously come up with the “Profile Transfer” feature too. The company, which has lost a lot of revenue globally due to password sharing, continues to work on this issue. Whatis your thought about Netflix’s actions? You can share with us in the comment section below.